My Summer To Watch List

During the school year I don’t allow myself much time to sit and watch a movie, tv show, or series. If I sit down and watch something I only end up feeling like I should be doing homework or studying.

People tell me to watch while I’m studying or getting ready in the morning, but that’s not really an option for me. I wish I could do that! Because when I watch something I have to be doing nothing else but watching. So my schedule during the school year gets in the way of me sitting still for too long and it leads me to compile this list of films and shows to catch up on come summer (and winter) break.

So, since my summer break officially starts this Friday, and I won’t be taking summer classes for once (queue the party poppers!!) I now have a bit more time to catch up on as much as I can, because wow this list has gotten a little out of hand. I decided to share a quick hand full of the titles in my To Watch section. All coming from Neflix and Hulu, too.

Let’s start with Hulu

legion.pngLegion
I actually don’t know much about Legion, but I’ve seen episode clips here and there and the editing effects, visuals, and audio seem insane! In a good way. I’m really excited for this one.

handmaid.png
The Handmaid’s Tale
All I’ve heard are good things so far. Based on Margaret Atwood’s 1998 novel, this series is meant to also be a satire.

 

Now to Netflix

the get down.png
The Get Down (season two)
The first season was too good. From the cool clothes the characters wore to the music and the story itself. You’re just left rooting for all the characters to do well.

la nina.png
La Nina
I’m interested in this series because I’m hoping it includes some truth regarding the character being an ex-guerrilla. Maybe they’ll include some history even if it’s been modified for tv.

mst 3000.png
Mystery Science Theater 3000
And just to have a laugh, I’m excited to watch MST3000. Which honestly will probably only get me to add more movies to my To Watch list.

 

More titles worth mentioning:

  • Top of the Lake (Hulu)
  • Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise (Netflix)
  • Girlhood (Netflix)
  • Cable Girls (Netflix)
  • The Discovery (Netflix)
  • The People v OJ Simpson (Netflix)
  • Crazy Head (Netflix)
  • 13th (Netflix)
  • Amores Perros (Netflix)
  • Woman in Gold (Netflix)
  • The Black Power Mixtape 1967-1975 (Netflix)

And these are only off my Hulu and Netflix lists.. Yeah I’ve got a bit to catch up on.

Leave a Reply

